Before, TikTok was just used for socialization, but now, many businesses are using it. You can reach more possible customers using this social media platform, no wonder why many companies quickly adapted it.
Are you going to use TikTok for your business? Still on the fence of using it? Check out the statistics below:
- There are around one billion TikTok users daily, and more than three billion have downloaded this app on their phones.
- TikTok outranks Pinterest for user engagement sessions. The former has an average user session of 10.85 minutes while the latter is 5.06 minutes.
- TikTok users in the U.S. increased five times in just 18 months.
- Many people (around 65% of the general population) use this social media platform in helping them buy products online.
That said, there’s great potential for this app to help your business grow. Social media is an effective tool for getting more traffic to your website, and in generating sales.
So, are you ready to know the best practices of using this app? Let’s find out!
How is TikTok used for marketing?
Video contents are everywhere! In reels, shorts, stories, and movies, definitely, they’re flooding the entire online community. And TikTok is one of the trending social media platforms where video production happens daily.
Using this app, you can create short videos for advertising your brand or business. The longest video you can make on TikTok is around 10 minutes. Videos shorter than 60 seconds capture more attention from online users.
In terms of marketing, the below are the reasons why businesses are using this app:
- Entice customers to buy your products or services
- Build more engagements
- To increase your brand awareness
- To gather customer testimonials
- Offering customer service
How Does TikTok Marketing Work?
It’s easy to create your own TikTok business account. First you have to go to your account settings, select Manage Account, and then choose Switch to Business Account. After, you’ll have your official TikTok Business Account.
This social media platform is all about online video production. You can make your videos outside TikTok and upload it there. Alternatively, you can make one inside TikTok. Its video creator is super easy to use. You can make your own attention-grabbing videos in less than 10 minutes.
So it is just about video production? Not really, since you need to have a marketing plan on what are the contents you need to create for the entire year. That way, you know where you’re going. Moreover, you know what contents to make for your target audience.
Understanding Organic TikTok Marketing
This platform has a “For You” page where TikTok recommends videos that fit your interests. They based on three things:
- How you interact with videos
- The content of the videos you’re watching
- And the device you’re using
For instance, if you like watching videos about cars, then TikTok will recommend car videos on your For You page. They base that on your viewing habits and interests.
How to get your videos on the front line?
This is where you’ll use SEO for your video marketing. That means, you’re going to use relevant keywords that are frequently searched by viewers online. You can incorporate that into your contents through the subtitles, captions, and video titles. The use of trending hashtags is also one of the best practices in TikTok marketing.
How does Paid TikTok Marketing work?
Just like Google Ads and Facebook Ads, we also have TikTok Ads. To do so, you need to have a TikTok Ads Manager account. In that account, you can create your campaigns and customize that based on your target audience and budget.
Here are the different ad formats you can use paid TikTok marketing:
- TopView Ads: This appears at the top-most portion of your TikTok app.
- Branded Hashtag Challenge: This motivates users to share videos using a branded hashtag.
- In-feed ads: This lets your videos be shown on the For You pages of your target audiences.
- Branded Effects: This lets you use branded stickers and filters for your video production. It helps make your contents be more engaging and attractive to users.
Similar to Facebook Ads, there are different ways for you to pay for your TikTok Ads:
- Cost per thousand impressions (CPM): The cost you pay to get your videos shown to 1000 users.
- Cost per click (CPC): The cost of your ads per click.
- Cost per thousand views (CPV): The amount you pay to get 1000 audience views of your videos.
- Optimized cost per thousand impressions (oCPM): The cost you pay for letting TikTok show your videos to a thousand people who are likely to take an action.
Best Tips on crafting your TikTok Marketing Strategy
Promoting your business through TikTok is a great idea. You have an alternative in case other paid social ads don’t work for your business. Below are the four main tips I want to share with you.
Make sure to have specific goals on your TikTok account
Before spending on ads, do you have a definite goal for your campaign? This is essential before starting your TikTok marketing since it’ll guide all your efforts on video production.
Whether it’s for brand awareness or getting more purchases, you need to have a specific goal per campaign. If you want brand awareness, your videos must expose how your brand is different from others. Showcase the value-adding features of your business.
If you’re on to sales, then you need to highlight the best benefits of your products on your videos. Doing all these things, that would make a huge difference on your TikTok Marketing.
Search for Trends
Immersing yourself into TikTok is the best way to understand what’s trending or not online. Take an hour or two to scroll through your For You page, and the feeds. That way, you get different ideas on your video production using apps.
Don’t forget to track trending hashtags that are relevant to your business. This is a good strategy to help increase the reach of your videos.
Additional resource: Video marketing trends you need to know
Interact with other TikTok Creators
Partnerships and collaborations with other TikTok creators is an excellent way to grow. Let’s face it, no man is an island, right? If you can find good partnerships with other influencers, then why not go for it, right? That way, you get boosted by their popularity and influence online.
Real-time engagement with creators is also great! You get so many comments and reactions from each others’ viewers and fans.
Always take time to review your marketing efforts
How can you check if your TikTok marketing works? That’s right, you need to check your TikTok Ads Manager. This is the best place to see the results of your video ads. Are you getting the most results out of the budget you are putting into your campaign? Looking into your Ads manager is the best place to go.
For instance, if you used $100 for your paid TikTok ads, and you get 100 clicks on your campaign, that means the cost per click is $1. If your previous campaign cost you $3 per click, then your current results are getting better.
There are different metrics you can use for measuring the effectiveness of your video ads marketing, and you can always learn about that through time.
Keeping track of your TikTok marketing is essential. It’s your way of knowing if you need to change something on your videos, or not. You can also refer to other contents from other TikTok creators to improve your videos.